To purchase a handgun, a person must be at least 21 years of age. As part of the DROS process, the purchaser must present “clear evidence of identity and age” which is defined as a valid, non-expired California Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
To buy a firearm in California you must make sure of the following:
1. Make sure you’re the right age. To buy a rifle or a shotgun (excluding assault rifles banned under state law) you must be 18. To buy a handgun you must be 21
2. If you’re a convicted felon, stop here. Federal law 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(1) states it is illegal for felons to own firearms.
3. Similarly, if you’ve ever been committed to a mental institution, you’ll have a difficult time passing your background checks. And regardless of the background check, it may not be a good idea to own a firearm if you know you are mentally unstable, suicidal, or are taking drugs for any mental illness.
4. As an American citizen, you can purchase firearms. If you are not a citizen, some visas may allow you to purchase firearms, but normally you are not able to.
There are basically two ways in purchasing a firearm. They are:
Submit an optional Personal Firearms Eligibility Check (PFEC) application along with a copy of your California Driver’s License or ID Card and a check or money order for $20. Get the application notarized and include an impression of your right thumbprint. If you’re not a U.S. citizen, you’ll also need to include an Alien Registration or I-94 Card. You should get the results back within 30 days, but it can take up to 120. This process is separate from the background check and 10-day waiting period described in later steps. This is to determine if you can legally possess and purchase firearms. Submitting this form is a good idea if you’re unsure of your qualification to own a firearm, but it is not required before buying a firearm.
Go to your local gun shop (Federal Firearms Licensed dealer) and request to take the 30-question handgun safety test. It will cost some money, but it’s a requirement if you want to purchase a handgun. When you pass, you will receive a certificate. If you fail the test, you can take it again however many times you need to. It costs $25.00. It should be noted that there are a number of exemptions to this requirement. These include specific law enforcement affiliations and current or prior military service.
Feel free to come into our Store for further information. we would love to help you in purchasing your firearm. Below are some useful videos we found with further information.